Sailing Programme & Start Times

Open Meetings & Training Events

  • Scorpion Class Training : 23rd April
  • GP14 & Scorpion Classes Open Meeting : Sunday 24th April
  • RYA NW Junior Traveller : Saturday 14th May
  • Solo Class Open Meeting : Sunday 29th May
  • RYA NW Senior Traveller : 28th June
  • Merlin-Rocket Class Open Meeting : Saturday 22nd October – Sunday 23rd October

Special Club Events

  • Club Championships : Sunday 25th September  12:30pm Start
  • Founders Plate : Saturday 26th June  12:30pm Start
  • Spring Pursuit Race : Sunday 15th May  1pm Start
  • Summer Pursuit Race : Sunday 3rd July  1pm Start
  • Autumn Pursuit Race : Sunday 2nd October  1pm Start
  • Winter Pursuit Race : Sunday 20th November  1pm Start

Sundays : Club Racing

Sundays 6th March to 16th October 2022:

Senior Handicap fleet & Junior Handicap fleet

1.00pm & 1:01pm Mass start if small numbers at 1:01pm

Sundays 30th October to 11th December 2022:

Senior Handicap fleet & Junior Handicap fleet

12.30pm & 12:31pm Mass start if small numbers at 12:31pm

Three points races are scheduled to be sailed each Sunday. These are the start times of the first race.

  • Frostbite Series : 6th March – 27th March
  • Spring Series : 3rd April – 22nd May
  • Summer Series : 5th June – 24th July
  • August Series : 31st July – 28th August
  • Autumn Series : 4th September – 33th October
  • Winter Series : 6th November – 11th December

Wednesdays : Club Racing

Wednesday evenings 7th April to 1st September 2022:

Slow Handicap fleet & Fast Handicap fleet                                                            7.00pm
Mass start

This is the start time of the first race.

On Wednesdays in early April, late August and early September one race is scheduled to be sailed. 

On Wednesdays between 28th April and 18th August two races will be sailed ‘back to back’ provided the OOD considers conditions to be suitable. 

Please note that the sequence of the fleet starts for the second race may vary from that which was used in the first race.

  • Equinox Series: 6th April – 15th June
  • Solstice Series : 22rd June – 31st August

Friendly Fridays

Friendly Fridays are held most Fridays over the Summer/Autumn.

Dates TBC

Amending the Starting Sequence

For a particular series, the Sailing Committee may choose to introduce separate starts for different fleets.

This decision will be displayed both on the Sailing Committee noticeboard in the main clubroom and here on our website before the first race of any given series and, will apply to the whole series.

Starting for any subsequent series will revert to one Mass Start unless a further notification is posted.

The notification will include which Fleet board will be used to indicate that particular fleet’s start.


All races will be dually scored to give both Class results and Handicap results with the Handicap results being the combined results from the Slow Handicap fleet and the Fast Handicap fleet.  Trophies will be awarded to the All Classes’ winner (i.e. the overall series winner as calculated using the PY Handicap system) in each of the club’s various series.

Please note that our Sailing Instructions (SI 14.10) state that the club trophies for the various classes (Merlin Rocket, GP14, Solo & Laser) will only be awarded if, at the end of each series, at least three boats have participated in at least one third of the races run in the series (rounded down).